top of page

Divide and Conquer


With the whole plot strimmed and raked it was time to start digging and after a few days of procrastination, I decided that I would split the plot into various size beds, the methodology being I could dig a bit and plant a bit.

The second driver in my decision making process was that clearing and digging the whole site in one go would in effect, be creating my version of the Forth Bridge; by the time I had finished the weeds would have been back.

What I hadn't really considered was the amount of detritus I would uncover just below the surface, a folded bike wheel, chicken wire and enough broken glass to glaze a greenhouse at Kew Gardens, not to mention a whole paraphernalia of ironmongery.

Whilst digging over the beds I was as careful as possible to remove as much bind weed as I could see, often bending to pick worms up by mistake! I was of an age where bending was easy but straightening up again was a whole new experience. Many trips were followed by long hot soaks in the bath to ease my aging bones and aching muscles but both were a small price to pay for the sense of saisfaction I had from turning a green strip into something that looked ready to plant.......


bottom of page