top of page

Finding Area 51


After waiting two years for a plot, a letter dropped on the doormat in March 2014. It's strange how a few words written on a piece of paper can give you such a euphoric feeling!

Following the instructions on the letter, I arranged to meet the site rep the following Friday to choose my plot..... The agreed meeting time was 10am but I thought it would be prudent to arrive a little early, so there I am 90 minutes before the agreed time waiting for the arrival of the site rep. In my mind I had imagined that I would be one of several viewing plots today and by being early I would be first in line. Just before 10am a small red car trundled up to the gates and out stepped the site rep 'Tim'

To my surprise I was the only one viewing the nine vacant plots today so we set about viewing those available. After two circuits of the site, I elected to choose number 51, a corner plot, close to water and not too overgrown. The plot was on the sweep of the entrance road and the shape resembled half an arch but to me was perfect!

Upon returning home excited to tell the wife I was met with a disapproving look, followed by..."plot 51 sounds a bit morbid", hence the naming of Area 51.


bottom of page